Opening these suitcases is facing a fear.

Once I’ve emptied out all of my luggage, I’ll have to deal with the fact that what I don’t see, is basically lost to me… and that’s scary. Really scary.

Actually, more than being scary, I think it’s sad. I’m worried about how disappointed I’ll feel when I open all my bags and some of the things I valued aren’t there, but how pathetic is it to live without knowing what you do or don’t have because you’re scared? I don’t want to start replacing things because I was too much of a coward to see if they were in my suitcase or not.

I want to be brave in the new year, so I’ll start now. Courage doesn’t come by magic, it comes by effort. Being courageous doesn’t mean you aren’t afraid; it means you’re facing your fear.

Merriam-Webster’s definition of courage: mental or moral strength to venture, persevere, and withstand danger, fear, or difficulty

In the Bible, God tells Joshua to be courageous before he tells him not to be afraid or dismayed*. I think there’s something to that. Sometimes, we have to start with an “in spite of my fear” or “help my unbelief” sort of faith to finish our tasks, undaunted.

In spite of your fears, get started. In spite of your fears, finish. In the end, you’ll see that the things you were afraid of were nothing you couldn’t overcome.

*Dismay:

1)to cause to lose courage or resolution (as because of alarm or fear)

2) upset, perturb

Leave a Reply

