“It’s been a while.”

That’s what you say the first time you interact with someone you haven’t talked to in a while… It’s usually followed by awkward laughter and sometimes vague plans to get together in the future. They’re usually so vague that it’s just:

“We should get together sometime.”

“Yeah. I know, right?”

Let’s stop.

I’m sorry. I haven’t been posting much. I went through a stint where I wasn’t even writing much… Some days, I wasn’t writing at all.

This week, I’m trying to get back on the wagon. I started writing fanfiction again. It’s partly a desperate attempt to make sure that I write (something, anything. I’ve heard that writing 500 words per day is a good habit for writers) regularly. I’m also back to writing poetry.

I want to say we should meet more often. I want to promise that this will be a regular thing.

Right now, I don’t want to promise a schedule. I’m working on scheduling my in person appearances– in other words, my real life. Hopefully, I’ll be able to make those sorts of promises in the not so distant future… but not today.

Today, I’ll say it’s been a while. I’ll remind you that you know how to find me. I’ll promise to check my e-mails more often if you say you wrote to me and I didn’t respond. Today, I’ll say it was nice seeing you– Do you live in the area? Maybe we’ll run into each other again.

Leave a Reply

