9:26

I look for me in you and you in me.

Find nothing save the holes we’ve drilled to blow our breath through one another.

Emptying one another, vanity.

Looking for the most important part to steal and keep.

Blinded by our own anxieties about being left lonely again, we miss the opportunity to t value the people we destroy.

I look for you in me, and myself in you

And come away wondering at how wholely holey I’ve made you.

How much of the holy in me you undervalued, and we leave each other

A messy breakup sitting in the same room.

Smudged mascara, black eye

Loosened tie, broken necklace

How did we allow ourselves to be so reckless?

Leave a Reply

